No. 1 Christopher Newport is the 2022 DIII softball national champion. After the Captains topped No. 6 Trine 6-3 in the first game of the championship series on Monday, CNU shut out the Thunder 3-0 in Game 2, clinching the title.

In Game 1, Kaitlyn Hasty came through for the Captains with a grand slam in the bottom of the fifth that broke a 2-2 tie. Read More